AABC to Hold TAB Talk Webinar on Pressure Independent Valve Technology

The Associated Air Balance Council will hold a new AIA-approved webinar in their TAB Talk series on May 19, in collaboration with the newest AABC Industry Partner, Belimo.

Pressure independent valves are commonly used in the HVAC industry to control chilled and hot water for air conditioning and heating. PI valves supply a specific flow for each value of the DDC control signal, regardless of pressure variations in the system. The speakers will discuss valve characteristics and how they relate to hydronic coil performance, valve sizing and valve authority, and how these elements affect the equipment’s operation in the central energy plant. The session will conclude with a review of the different types of pressure independent valves and valve technologies.

Webinar title: Pressure Independent Valve Technology: Performance & Testing Consideration

When: 2 p.m. Eastern / 1 p.m. Central / Noon Mountain / 11 a.m. Pacific, May 19

Duration: One hour

Registration link: https://www.aabc.com/register-for-the-pressure-independent-valve-technology-may-19/

Presenters: Bob Walker, regional application consultant, Belimo Americas and Brian Venn, TBE, CxA, Mechanical Testing, Inc.

Learning objectives:

• Define and describe the function of PI valves
• Identify the piping and pressure implications of PI valves
• Describe the operating sequence of a mechanical PI valve
• Describe the operating sequence of an electronic PI valve
• Explain the steps to commission a PI valve

Continuing education credits: AIA 1 LU

Cost: Free for AABC, ACG and EMA members; $39 for non-members